Signing off
2004-09-27, 1:48 p.m.

This will probably be my final update from Korea. I'm returning to the states on Monday the 27th. Of course, my stay in Korea would not have been complete without one last fiasco. On Thursday, my wallet along with my passport, resident alien card, bank book, atm card, credit cards and driver's license was stolen. I made a report to the police that night and spent all day Friday running around trying to get a new passport, close my bank account and get all of my pension money back from the Korean Government.

Fortunately, the American Embassy was very helpful and they had a new passport for me by 3pm. I also have to thank my roommate. Without her help, I couldn't have accomplished everything that I did. Misun loaned me more than $120.00 so that I could get a new passport, run errands and eat. I have been very fortunate to meet some terrific people in Korea.

The last eight months have been a fascinating learning experience but I am so glad to be going home. There are a lot of things I'm going to miss about living in Korea but I think Dorothy said it best "There's no place like home."

last - next