The Journey Back Home
2004-09-06, 7:02 p.m.

Another day and I��m so tired. Last night I woke up at 3AM and never went back to sleep. I couldn��t seem to get comfortable or find the right position. I thought about getting up and going for a walk or a run or anything to get me closer to home. Only 2 weeks and 6 days now. Perhaps if I stop counting, the time will go faster.

Yesterday I started having second thoughts about leaving but they were short lived. I know I can��t stay here any longer. I am too tired.

Whatever it is that draws people here and keeps them comming back for years I will never know or understand. It��s just another big city; a strange place with an unfamiliar culture and a language that perplexes me.

I have endless empathy and compassion for the people who leave behind their homes and familes to travel to the United States in search of a better future. I was searching for something better too but I didn't find it in Korea. Perhpas I was looking in the wrong place. Better luck next time.

last - next