Observations on my experience
2004-08-22, 1:54 p.m.

Since I'm getting ready to go home, I wanted to share some of my oberservations about Korea before I leave. It would be easy to stereotype the Korean people but of course when taken as individuals, each Korean is unique, just like all of us. But I've made a few generalizations about the culture.

My first observation is an obvious one. People are the same no matter where you go. In many ways, Koreans are a lot like Americans, Japanese, Canadians or any other nationality. They want to be financially successful, have families and take vacations. They have hopes, dreams and goals that aren't so different from anyone else. The things I don't like about Koreans are the same things I don't like about Americans; racism and sexism for example.

Although Korean women have taken great strides towards equality, they still have a long way to go. The position of Korean women is about where American women were 30 years ago. Domestic violence runs rampant and no one seems to acknowledge that it's a problem. Most people, men and women, still consider that it's a husband's prerogative to beat his wife. I've seen women I know coming to work with black eyes and bruises.

Unfortunately, Koreans are as racist as some of the people I've met in the states who are from the deep south. It pains me that people can be so ignorant and mean. I work with an African-American woman and some of the things students have said about her are reprehensible. I admire her thick skin and her fortitude. She's been in Korea for two years and she plans on staying for another two.

As an aside, I think one of my biggest pet peeves is people who smoke right under the no smoking sign. That really makes me mad. Especially when I'm sitting next to them having to breath in their toxic air.

Koreans work very hard. They are some of the most industrious people I've ever met. Within the space of one generation, Korea has gone from being a third world, war torn country to a first world with a growing economy. Unfortunately, the cost on their health is very high and many men spend a lot of their free time and money drinking excessive amounts of Soju and beer to relax.

My experience in Korea has not been very easy or always enjoyable but I can't really leave with any bad feelings towards the people or the country. Although my house was burglarized, that could have happened anywhere. The majority of the people I've met have been kind, generous and helpful.

One of the nicest people I've become acquainted with is the ajuma who runs the neighborhood store next to my apartment. She is always worried about my health. Whenever I stop in, she sends me home with fresh fruit for free. I will always remember her kindness because it made my experience so much better.

I am very disappointed that things weren't different for me. I didn't have the experience that I wanted but perhaps I got the experience I needed or was meant to have. We don't always get to choose our own adventure. Sometimes life just happens.

last - next