The Road Home
2004-08-14, 2:16 p.m.

I just wanted to make a quick update today. I've managed to recover from the shock of being robbed completely blind and now I'm trying to make some plans for the future. I didn't have anything insured, so I'm not going to get any money for what was stolen.

All of my jewelry was irreplaceable, so mostly I'd like to just get a new lap top, which equals about two months salary for me; so much for all my plans to go to Thailand or enroll in massage school. At this point I don't know what I'm going to do but the urge to go home has become overwhelming.

Since I��ve been in Korea, I��ve been chronically sick and I��ve spent hundreds of dollars going to the doctor. I��ve had to work numerous 10 or 12hour days against my will. Now, I��ve been robbed completely blind. Needless to say, this hasn��t been the greatest experience of my life.

I keep persisting in the hope that things will improve but every time I start to feel better about my situation something comes along to disrupt my happy moment. I haven��t decided if I��m a committed employee trying to do a good job or if I��m just really masochistic.

Despite everything, I feel calm today and I have a sense that things will all come clear soon. I don��t know where I��m headed but I��m going in the right direction, which is a start.

last - next