The Ladies Man
2004-07-29, 9:19 a.m.

My question of the week: Can a feminist and a womanizer be friends? I ask myself that question every time I talk to The Ladies Man. We get along well and basically I think he�s an all right person but I hate the way he treats women. It really irritates the hell out of me when I hear him on the phone with a girl.

Yesterday we were ridding in a cab together and one of the girls he�s been seeing called him. He gave her a load of shit that was completely uncalled for and then he hung up on her. I looked at him and asked, �What the hell is going on?� He told me that his girlfriend from Japan is coming soon, so he�s got to dump all of his girls in Korea. I said, �Well, if you ever talked to me like that, I�d tell you to go fuck yourself.� He replied, �I know, I keep hoping that she�ll do exactly that.�

The problem is that many things are lost in translation when someone isn�t fluent in a language or culture. He�s saying words, but she doesn�t understand what he�s really trying to tell her. I feel sorry for the girl because she honestly thinks there is something wrong with herself and if she could just fix the problem, then he would stay with her. I told him that he needs to spell things out for her because she doesn�t understand what he�s trying to do. But, he�s too much of a wimp to be honest with her. It�s so sad and pathetic.

The other day The Ladies Man told me that one of his girls had seen some text messages on his phone and she broke up with him. He was really upset about it so I asked him �Do any of these women know that you�re seeing other women?� He replied: �No! Of course not! It�s all fun and games.� Obviously, the girls don�t see it that way. I wanted to slap some sense into him but I didn�t think it would do any good. He really doesn�t get it.

last - next